April is Here!

by

I am so excited to join the nursing bloggers at the Clear Medical Network and want to introduce myself before my very first post!

Hi, my name is April.  

I am a newly minted RN and have a deep love for both psychiatric nursing and HIV patients.   I will be even more excited when I find my first full-time nursing position here in the Milwaukee area (probably one of the very few places without a shortage). 

The journey is going to be great! 

______________________________

So let’s get started…

The question I get the most when I tell people about my career is “Why nursing?  Isn’t it gross to see naked bodies and bodily fluids?” 

I used to have the same thoughts until I experienced them in the capacity of a nurse.  Of course we do everything we can to cover up our patients and give them dignity, but we don’t cringe when we have to check someone’s backside (most of us anyway). 

When put into perspective, naked bodies and bodily fluids are not a focus when we are there to care for a fellow human in their deepest hour of need.  I experienced my first code at a local Children’s hospital and proved to myself I could handle the pressure, even if I was slightly traumatized. 

For graduation I received an “Angel of Healing” figurine from my soon-to-be mother in law who is a retired nurse.  At that moment I felt welcomed into the profession and I cried.

The bonds that nursing forms in the souls of each nurse is deep, we have an enormous opportunity to shape it into something even better.

I hope my blog posts will welcome nurses to the profession and help shape it into something better. 

If you have any advice for me, don’t hesitate to share it in the comment section below. 

_______________

April blogs regularly at  nurseinwi.blogspot.com and is followed @PsychNurseinWI on twitter.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “April is Here!”

  1. Tyler Says:

    Good luck to you. Whenever you start something new
    It’s always intimidating. You seem like a bright person
    Who will do great in the field of nursing. I am not a
    Nurse I am just a biller. I work at the U.C. Davis eye center in sacramento, Ca. Anyway I just wanted to
    wish you luck and send my encouragement and support

    -Tyler

  2. PsychRN in WI Says:

    Thank you for the kind words of support Tyler. And no matter your role in health care, it takes all of us as a team to accomplish our goals!

Leave a comment